First steps...DevCareers X Prograte with the helping hand

Late last year, I decided to learn to code. Months later I got a laptop and decided I would focus fully on learning with a goal of becoming a frontend developer. A friend suggested that I follow developers on twitter, in his words "It isn't just twitter, its a land of opportunities ". In April to be precised, I started learning on freecodecamp as recommended by some developers I followed. During that same month, i saw a tweet from Akintunde Sultan stating that he really wants to get 100 budding developers in a workspace and give them access to progate courses for 3 months and also give them data for 3 whole months Honestly i knew I needed this courses if I really wanted to learn, and so i applied and luckily got picked

Getting started

I got an invite to the slack workspace which I joined, it was my first time using the app. A couple of days after joining, the amiable coordinator Okoye Chidi gave out tasks which we were to submit in less than a week. I felt it was too much to handle, as I was just about less than a month into coding, i had a figma design to implement and I did't know how to host on netlify. I did the best i could do and submitted. That taught me to work with deadlines and improved my knowledge of css positioning, Flex box and media queries. Chidi Bartholomew Okoye made it all inclusive and no one was left out including some of us who were total newbies(at the time, i couldnt write a line of javascript) as beginner friendly tasks were also given on the side.

wonderful 3 months

Looking back at the last 3 months, its been a wonderful experience. I'm glad at the amount of support I have gotten from some of the people I met in the workspace, I ask some very basic question and they still answer me. My knowledge of CSS and javascript has improved. I'm grateful for the free courses which ,made learning so easy. I'm also grateful for the projects I worked on and for monthly data which kept me going. Lastly i'm grateful for the certificate of completion awarded on completing the web development path.

Too much work is bad for the health, lol. There was also something to ease off stress. The PM, Okoye Chidi coordinated games night and awarded prizes to winners, it was fun and engaging, also got to learn alongside a few things.

The #AMA sessions with Samson Goddy and Hoop Somuah were very educative and inspiring to me as a newbie, as tech bosses addressed us and answered our diverse questions. With every session, I learnt something new.

Worthy of note is the #resources channel. Some resources I picked form there have and will continue to guide me in my tech journey

Moving Forward

Special thanks to the sponsors Akintunde Sultan, @HoopSomuah, Samson Goddy , two anons and Okoye Chidi for this much needed opportunity. Moving forward, I will keep on learning, coding and practicing. I hope to build on what i have learnt in the last 3 months, get better, apply for more opportunities ,work on more projects and be the world class developer I want to be. I can and I will.

Thanks